Post CCT GP Fellowship Programme 2019/2020

Published: 1st September 2019

The NHS Five Year Forward View (FYFV) gave a target of 250 GP Fellowships by 2020. As part of this Health Education England (HEE) has agreed a national programme framework and investment model, which will be managed by HEE across the North. The North West has approval for 36 posts.

The aim of the programme is to support newly qualified GPs to develop the leadership and advanced clinical skills required for the future of GP development. This will facilitate both individual career development and local health service needs. Read more on the HEE North West website.

Full time posts

The full-time programme will be delivered over a 9-10 session week and run for 12 months. The programme will allow for local variation in terms of content and clinical focus, the structure of Fellowship programmes will include:

At least 40% (likely 3- 4 sessions p/w) of traditional general practice, to develop clinical maturity as a GP. It is likely a primary care provider will be the main employer.

Up to 40% of time to develop skills and involvement in GP development beyond the MRCGP curriculum and relevant to the fellowship and five year forward aims. This might cover areas of workforce development within a practice including new ways of working, and could also be focused on priority areas for development such as urgent and emergency care or leadership, or in specific/ specialty areas for example care of the elderly such as frailty, mental health, oncology, paediatrics, veteran’s health etc. It may be a mix of clinical and organisational work.

10% (1 session p/w) of protected education and training time. It is intended that an academic underpinning will frame the programme and provide robust governance and quality assurance. This may involve completion of a Postgraduate Certificate. Funding is available to support a range of Postgraduate Certificates and Diploma’s available in a range of areas, to be chosen by each fellow. If this will require more than a half a day a week and your host practice agrees then they can apply to have this increased to two sessions per week.

Fellows will attend educational sessions facilitated by HEE NW. They will also be invited to attend the Higher Professional Education programme of 5 days of education per year, and made aware of other educational opportunities.

Less than full-time posts

A less than full-time programme will be considered. Given the nature of the programme, this could be up to 0.8wte to be discussed on an individual basis. How this breaks down in terms of funding for the education and training element will be determined on a case-by-case basis.

The posts are ideally intended to be the first substantive posts after CCT (not counting locums) to fit with the aim of recruiting new GPs. However, applicants with more experience can be considered if places are available within the first five years of completing training.

Below is a list of available posts – please contact the practice directly for information about individual posts.  There are also some adverts attached.

Provider Organisation(s) Name Contact Name(s) Email Address Address Tel No Job Advert and Application
East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust & PWE Healthcare Suzanne Gawne suzanne.gawne@elht.nhs.uk PGME, Learning & Development, Royal Blackburn Hospital 01254 734315  East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust & PWE Healthcare Advert

Person Specifications and Job Description

Bay Medical Group Lorraine McCoskrie lorraine.mccoskrie@gp-y01008.nhs.uk West End Site, 1 Heysham Road, Morecambe, LA3 1DA 01524 511999
The Village Practice Louise Furnival louisefurnival@nhs.net Thornton Medical Centre, Church Road, Thornton Cleveleys, FY5 2TZ 012523 955561  The Village Medical Practice Advert 
Ribble Medical Group Dr Partha Sarathi Ganguli partha.ganguli@nhs.net Fishergate Hill Surgery, 50 Fishergate Hill, Preston, PR1 8DN 01772 254484  Ribble Medical Group Job Description
Lane Ends Surgery Dr Hari Nair harinair@nhs.net 200 Tulketh Brow, Ashton-on-Ribble, Preston, Lancs, PR2 2JJ 01772 529260
Dr Shearer & Partners, Glenroyd Medical Anna Butrym anna.butrym@nhs.net Glenroyd Medical, Moor Park Health & Leisure Centre, Bristol Ave, Blackpool, FY2 0JG 01253 953706
Wigan Borough CCG Dr Nikesh Vallabh nikesh.vallabh@nhs.net Chandler Surgery, Poolstock Lane, Wigan, WN3 5HL 01942 481440  Wigan Burrough CCG Job Advert
Rochdale Health Alliance – HMR Primary Care Academy Dr Gill Tonge gill.tonge@nhs.net Peterloo Medical Centre, 133-137 Manchester Old Rd, Middleton, M24 4DZ 0161 6435005
Tameside & Glossop Integrated Care NHS FT Dr Alison Lea alisonlea@nhs.net Tameside Hospital, Trust HQ, Silver Springs House  Thameside and Glossop Job Advert
Delamere Medical Practice Farrah Sheikh farrahsheikh@nhs.net Delamere Medical Practice, Delamere Ave, Stretford, Manchester, M32 0DF 0161 8640200
Primrose Surgery Damien Herron damien.herron@nhs.net Primrose Surgery, 59 Old Crofts Bank, Urmston, M41 5TJ 0161 7472424  Primrose Surgery Job Advert
Tower Family Healthcare Kate Foster kate.foster1@nhs.net Tower Family Healthcare, Tottington Branch. 16 Market St, Tottington, Bury, BL8 4AD 01204 885106  Tower Family Healthcare Job Advert
Crewe Care Community Dr Andrew Spooner andy.spooner@nhs.net Grosvenor Medical Centre, Grosvenor St, Crewe, CW1 3HB 01270 256340
Everton in The Community & Sunlight Group Practice Michael Salla / Jennine Edge michael.salla@evertonfc.com / jennine.edge@nhs.net EiTC, 46 Spellow Lane, Liverpool, L4 4DF Sunlight Group Practice, Parkfield Medical Centre, New Ferry, Wirral, CH62 5HS EiTC – 0151 556 1878 Parkfield Medical Centre 0151 644 0055
Jubilee Medical Centre Dr Jane Foster jane.foster@livgp.nhs.uk 52 Croxteth Hall Lane, Liverpool, L11 4UG 0151 546 3956  Jubilee Medical Centre Job Advert
Primary Care Cheshire (Princeway Surgeries, Frodsham) & Countess of Chester Hospital NHS FT Claire Hankinson clairehankinson@nhs.net Countess of Chester Hospital, Liverpool Rd, Chester, CH2 1UL 01244 366866  Primary Care Cheshire & Countess of Chester Hospital Job Advert

For general queries please contact the GP Programme Support Team at gptraining.nw@hee.nhs.uk

Add to favourites

Post a comment

Share this page